COMPETENT CREW BEGINNERS COURSE REVIEWS

Sailing Today Competent Crew article gives a great snapshot of this course through the eyes of the then editor Sarah Pain (PDF)

"Sailing has to be better than buying any Villa, your destination is completely up to you and your abilities. I cannot imagine sailing ever getting boring and as a base Gibraltar was prefect, the locals and everyone we met to do with Allabroad were fantastic." Roger November 2016.

“Thanks again for the great Competent Crew course this week. Looking forward to be back next year for the Day Skipper - hence time to start preparation in theory” Daniel August 2016.

“I really enjoyed my Competent Crew course with your sailing school. Everything was well organised, we got to learn and practice plenty of new things, the group on board and on other boats where all really friendly and supportive and it was a pleasure to spend one week with them on board. Our instructor Ian was super friendly and supportive and I really liked his way of teaching. He let us do all kind of stuff on board and made sure everyone learned what we were supposed to learn. He also gave as a nice sightseeing tour in Ceuta and recommended places to visit and places to go for a morning run etc during the week in different harbours. All in all one of the best experiences in my life, thank you all for that :)" Jenni July 2016.

“I have definitely spent a great sailing week with Allabroad in Gibraltar! It was my first but for sure not my last time with you guys! Everything was great” Andreas July 2016.

“Myself and three friends have just completed the Day Skipper and Competent Crew sailing course last week in Gibraltar and we had such an amazing time, we just wanted to let you know and say thanks. It was such an amazing week, our boat (ASA Endeavour) was lovely and well stocked and exciting to sail” Julie June 2016.

" I just wanted to drop all of you at Allabroad a quick email to thank you for an Amazing week! Personally, I had no idea what to expect and I know our son, Stuart, was really unsure as he had never really been on a sailing yacht before. Alan was a great instructor! I learnt so much from him and now feel that I can actually sail! Mike, I know, found it an extremely intense week and feels he owes Alan a great deal as the support and advice he gave Mike will prove invaluable. Mike and I now have a son who has been so inspired that he is planning to return to Allabroad next year to do his Day Skipper! This would not have entered his head had it not been for the opportunities that Alan gave him in handling ASA Intrepid and having the confidence that Stuart would follow his instructions! All in all the Piercey family had an amazing week! As a company you have been friendly, efficient and helpful - always happy to answer whatever daft question I had leading up to our week! We will certainly think about joining you again for the next courses we would like to take.” Liz May 2016.

“It was a simply incredible week. Our skipper was absolutely amazing; super knowledgeable, thoughtful and informative. The week surpassed all of our expectations and we all returned on a high! Thank you!” Hannah April 2016.

EXPRESS DAY SKIPPER REVIEWS

“I'd say the course was exciting, I enjoyed the classroom probably as much as being out on the water purely because the sheer amount of knowledge you, I don't feel as if I've ever learnt so much in the short space of time. It was fun, getting to travel about of our own backs and see some cool places along the way (never been to the African continent before)!! And the course was clear and the teachers were patient will all of us so it helped you feel like no question was a silly question. I would and already have recommended it to my friends!” Harry December 2016.

“I arrived a little nervous about getting back in classroom and studying but from the moment we were introduced to everyone felt very much at ease a fantastic bunch of people (instructors) great boats will defiantly recommend Allabroad to my friends. Thanks once again.” Miles October 2016 (Motor).

“Thanks for such a brilliant time .I would sum up as “A door opening experience packed with superb sailing and wonderful new friends” The whole organisation was fantastic. Proximity to Marina, bars and restaurants couldn’t be better” Max October 2016.
"Thanks for the photographs and all your hard work in making the course and my stay really enjoyable. Please pass on my special thanks to Drew and Martin. As well as being excellent instructors they are great blokes and made the whole course such great fun. I don't use Facebook but would thoroughly recommend Allabroad to anyone considering sailing courses. I learnt a lot, had a great laugh and made some wonderful new friends. I hope to be back for another course in the future." Clive September 2016.

“So........ we have returned from Gibraltar as Day Skippers and Helmsmen. It seemed to take quite a while to get there (having booked all the way back in the winter, and seemingly having spent hours in online training!) but it was certainly worth it. Everyone we met from Allabroad was friendly and seemed as if they were enjoying themselves (students and instructors) and Gibraltar Marina is really vibrant, a great place to stay and the surrounding coast, bay, straits and of course the North African coast offer stunning sailing. We wanted to say that we had a really lovely time. Alex - thank you for being a brilliant host, you made everything very easy and painless Thank you all again, we learnt a lot, had fun, and will surely be back. Coastal Skipper? Charter? Yachting? Who knows now we have the bug” Adam & Family August 2016 (Motor).

“The course was first class, the tuition ashore and on the water could not have been better. Hayley was confident, knew, and you could tell, loved the subject she was teaching, and was endlessly patient without being the least bit condescending. Drew on the water was equally as good, he gave my wife so much confidence with boat handling by the calm way he approached everything, we all learnt so much from him. So the training was first class and well structured” Paul & Lesley May 2016.

“All I can say is it was a fantastic experience. The opportunity to sail in all kinds of weather, always confident of the support whilst we were learning. Alan was a great mentor, team leader, commander. The yachts were excellent, the training was first class, Hayley was so patient in the classroom we almost couldn't fail. The location was second to none. I'd recommend Allabroad to anyone, in fact I'm encouraging my boys to come over next year. I learnt loads and now have an appetite to learn even more. Looking forward to chartering next year, Thanks.” Stuart May 2016.

“I just wanted to say a big thank you after the Express Day Skipper course. I had an awesome time. It was very intense during the course and the exams had me twitching a bit but it was absolutely worth it. Also made some great friends who I'm still in touch with and we're now planning a charter boat for later this summer. For now, its planning the next step and onto the next stage! “ Jim April 2016.

“I am happy to inform you that I have enjoyed all aspects of the course which include the practical and the theory not forgetting your excellent PR skills dealing with customers. I felt very welcome and there was a good flow throughout as we covered all subjects, the setup is also very good with good facilities. What made it so enjoyable is the excellent performance given by my sailing instructor, Hayley my theory instructor and the shore team. I look forward to progressing with the next course eventually reaching Yachtmaster level.” Dean January 2016.

DAY SKIPPER PRACTICAL REVIEWS

“It has been a great experience joining Allabroad Sailing Academy for my RYA Day Skipper certification. I have appreciated very much your concept with less students on a boat, it allows the trainer to dedicate more attention to each student, having more comfort while staying on the boat. Special thanks to Drew for his teaching methods; I have really felt that I learnt a lot from him, having also fun during the courses. I will recommend your sailing academy to my friends as well” Claudiu November 2016.
“Thanks for such a brilliant time I would sum up as – ‘A door opening experience packed with superb sailing and wonderful new friends’. The whole organisation was fantastic, proximity to Marina, bars and restaurants couldn’t be better” Max October 2016.
“Thank-you and the whole All Abroad team for our holiday/day skipper and competent crew courses last week. I will strongly recommend them to other people” Julie October 2016.

I would just like to go on record to express appreciation and thanks from myself Gerry and my son in law for what was probably the best sailing week have experienced to date. The yacht Endeavour was new, well equipped, comfortable and great fun to be aboard. The third crew member Michael gelled with us immediately and under the experienced and watchful eye of skipper Martin we enjoyed a sailing experience second to none. The weather was perfect and the sailing area across the straights to Ceuta, across again to Estepona then down to La Linea was great variety and so much fun. I would like to thank you all for the experience which we hope to repeat but would like to single out Instructor skipper Martin for special thanks, his vast knowledge and experience is only surpassed by the way in which he passes down this knowledge to the crew by involving them in every single aspect of the learning experience. What makes it particularly special is the friendly hands on manner in which he does so and the way he follows up every learning experience to ensure we demonstrate and put into practice what we have just learned. This method takes patience and understanding to augment skill and experience and Martin has this in abundance. A first rate skipper and a top guy by any standards, he is a credit to your organisation and then some – Gerry October 2016.

“Let me begin by saying that your Academy is first rate. You looked after our family amazingly well. Your instructor (Drew) was brilliant. He was able to gauge how each of us learned the best and tailored the work accordingly by making it so much fun. I can't recommend you and Drew enough. Given any opportunity, we will recommend your service anywhere in the world, as it is superior. We are a family of four, two boys aged 6 & 11 and we intend to sail the world for two years. The training you have provided and the support you have given will be invaluable to make this dream come true. Well done guys & keep up the good work. We hope to see you with our own yacht in May 2017” Damien and Family October 2016.
“Just a note to thank you for making my visit to Gibraltar for a Day Skipper course an enjoyable and memorable experience. Your organisation was faultless, the Jeanneau 389 Endeavour well presented and a good boat in a blow. I also enjoyed the tasty meals on board! Above all our instructor taught us superbly and was well organised and very good company. I'm very happy to endorse Allabroad” Martin September 2016.
“Myself and three friends have just completed the Day Skipper and Competent Crew sailing course last week in Gibraltar and we had such an amazing time, we just wanted to let you know and say thanks. It was such an amazing week, our boat ASA Endeavour was lovely and well stocked and exciting to sail.” Julie June 2016.

“On arriving at Gibraltar Airport after a not so pleasant flight from Gatwick due to bad visibility and wind shear we made our way round to Allabroad Sailing Academy where we was greeted by Alex, I believe. Where we was made to feel very welcome and we were shown around the facilities on site and told to make ourselves at home and if we want to go into town we could leave our bags there, which we did. Meeting back at the Academy at 1700 to meet our instructor. The Instructor Drew and the Boat Allabroad Sailing Academy Endeavour At 1700 we was introduced to Drew our instructor for the week who then took us to our brand new 2016 Jeanneau 389, which was to our home for the next 6 days. Jules and I were amazed at standard of the boat and equipment. Drew our instructor left us to find our way around the boat that evening and joined us the following day. Which meant Jules and I had the boat to ourselves. We were yacht owners for a night. lol. Drew was amazing for the whole week. Jules was a negative Sailor, she was only doing it for me, so he made it all about her making sure she felt safe and apart of all the decision being made. We had the worst weather you could think of in May. With high winds and high seas and it was always up to Jules to make the decision whether we sail or not. Jules always felt safe with the boat and with Drew and never said we won’t sail and she enjoyed all of it and we both passed our relevant courses with flying colours. Food supplies: Jules is a Celiac and has very specialist needs when it comes to her diet. ASA did a fantastic job at supplying all that Jules and I would need for food and drink on the boat for a week and as a Chef the galley and equipment was more than adequate for the job. The course “Theory & Practical RYA Day Skippers and Competent Crew” I did my RYA Day Theory on line through Allabroad and the support I got was perfect, I asked if I could do my final exam with an instructor. Drew was my examiner and we did it in the comfort of the boat. This made me very comfortable, as I don’t do well under exam conditions. Needless to say I Passed. Gibraltar This is a great place to do the sailing course. The bay is large and safe even in rough weather. We then had the Spanish coast line to course then a longer sail to Morocco. Only Gib can offer this. Plus it’s tidal. In summary This has been a life changing experience for both of us. We are now looking at our finances to sell our home and buy a liveaboard to live on in the Gibraltar area. This was my dream but never my wife’s, as you know. That has now changed thanks to you and your team. Special thanks to Drew an outstanding and enthusiastic instructor with an understanding of encouragement and empathy” John May 2016.

“I have been extremely satisfied with Allabroad, its staff, the boat, the content of the course and the instruction. I would not hesitate a minute to recommend Allabroad to anybody interested in undertaking a RYA course” Xavier May 2016.

“I just wanted to say a big thank you for having me for the last 2 weeks, I’ve had a fantastic time & gained a sailing qualification” Mark April 2016.

COASTAL SKIPPER PRACTICAL REVIEWS

“Great to see you last week – thanks for all your help and support. Marc and I are really pleased and enthused we passed the practical Coastal Skipper, and really keen to progress our learning and experience moving forward. Please pass on our regards to Glenn – great instructor and gent.” Neil & Marc July 2016 (Motor)

“Thanks for writing and asking for a brief feedback - yes, I’d like to comment. First of all I’d like to say, that I had a really good time enjoying a very well organized Sailing Academy with perfect facilities right at the harbour, a quick and competent office and good yachts right on the pier - an excellent experience. Second: Martins professionally and didactic abilities are good for learners. I’ve enjoyed the two weeks amongst really nice English people, I want to empathise this as a Swiss: I’ve felt warmly accepted amongst all of you guys - thanks for have given me the opportunity to learn so much about sailing. I’ve already recommended Allabroad Sailing Academy. I wish all the best to all of you Allabroad people and I’m sure one day I’ll come again, maybe for Yachtmaster.” Martin April 2016.

“I had a great week, if a little sunburnt from the trip across to Africa. Not bad for March. Without knowing anyone on board, I had a great time and would recommend.” Paul March 2016.